The Buzz Forum Buzz

2012 CFDA Fashion Awards Nominations Announced (Forum Buzz)

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) announced the nominees, honorees, and host for the 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards last night at an exclusive event hosted by CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg at her studio in New York’s Meatpacking District.

Johnny Depp

The nominees are as follows:

Womenswear Designer of the Year:

– Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

– Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

– Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year:

– Simon Spurr

– Patrik Ervell

– Billy Reid

Accessory Designer of the Year:

– Alexander Wang

– Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

– Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:

– Joseph Altuzarra

– Chris Peters and Shane Gabier for Creatures of the Wind

– Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty for Suno

Swarovski Award for Menswear:

– Antonio Azzuolo

– Phillip Lim

– Todd Snyder 

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:

– Irene Neuwirth

– Pamela Love

– Tabitha Simmons

International Award: Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garcons

Media Award: Garance Doré & Scott Schuman

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger

Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp

Founders Award: Andrew Rosen


Forum members found the selection of Johnny Depp as style icon to be laughable, but the CFDA highlighted his “personal and eclectic sense of style” as the reason for his iconic status. He will be the first male recipient of the fashion icon award, which Lady Gaga took home with her last year.

The Awards Ceremony, which will take place on June 4 at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall, will be hosted by Saturday Night Live’s head writer and "Weekend Update" host, Seth Meyers. I’m not sure what his relationship to fashion is, but I think he’s awesome, so if anyone’s going to be poking fun at the Fashion Industry, I’m glad it will be him.