The Buzz Latest News

And the 2015 CFDA Fashion Awards Nominees Are…

CFDA 2015 Awards nominees

Image: Getty

The CFDA has announced the nominees for its 2015 Fashion Awards. Many old CFDA favorites got the nod this year for top honors, including Public School, The Row and Joseph Altuzarra. Last night, CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg rounded up elite members of the fashion set to announce this year’s troop up for awards in their respective categories. Public School managed to get two nominations — this time both in menswear and womenswear. Last year, the label snagged the Menswear Designer of the Year Award, so we guess the powers-that-be over at the CFDA are really loving what the brand is doing for American fashion.

For Womenswear Designer of the Year, Michael Kors, Marc Jacobs, Joseph Altuzarra, the Olsen twins and Proenza Schouler‘s Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough will duke it out all for a chance to take home a statue. Accessory Designer of the Year could go to the Proenza Schouler boys, Tabitha Simmons, the Olsen twins, Irene Neuwirth or Alexander Wang. For menswear, Public School’s Maxwell Osborne and Dao-Yi Chow go up against Tom Ford, Rag & Bone’s Marcus Wainwright and David Neville, Thom Browne and Tim Coppens.

Swarovski Award nominees for womenswear include Rosie Assoulin, Ryan Roche and CFDA favorite Public School. Shayne Oliver’s Hood by Air, Ovadia & Sons’ Ariel and Shimon Ovadia and Matthew, Alex and Samantha Orley of Orley are up for the menswear Swarovski prize. In Swarovski’s accessory category, Eva Fehren’s Eva Zuckerman, Paul Andrew along with Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel of Mansur Gavriel will all compete for the statue.

Other honorees include Betsey Johnson, who will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, J.Crew’s Mickey Drexler for the Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert, and Valentino’s Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli will snag the International Award.

The CFDA will announce the winners at a ceremony at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall on June 1.

[via CFDA]