Last night, March 16th, the CFDA announced the nominees for the 2009 CFDA Awards at a party celebrating the nominees and the CFDA board. The event took place at Rockefeller Center’s Rooftop Gardens.

Marc Jacobs, Narciso Rodriguez, and Rodarte’s Kate and Laura Mulleavy are up for the coveted 2009 Womenswear Designer of the Year award from the Council of Fashion Designers of America. While Calvin Klein Collection’s Italo Zucchelli, Michael Bastian and Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders are nominated in the menswear category. Marc Jacobs, Vera Wang and Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez will compete for the Accessory Designer of the Year award.

Nominees for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear, which honors emerging talent, are Thakoon Panichgul, Alexander Wang and Jason Wu. In the menswear group for the Swarovski Award are Patrik Ervell, Robert Geller and Tim Hamilton, while in the Accessory Design category for the Award are Albertus Q. Swanepoel, Alejandro Ingelmo and Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry.

The CFDA is also honoring First Lady Michelle Obama for her mark made on fashion industry and in light of her support for young designers like Jason Wu. First Lady Michelle Obama will be receiving this year’s Board of Director’s Special Tribute.

Marc Jacobs will receive the International Award for his work at Louis Vuitton, and Anna Sui will be given the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. Women’s Wear Daily editor in chief Edward Nardoza will receive the Eugenia Sheppard Award, and Jim Moore, creative director of GQ magazine will received the Eleanor Lambert Award.

This year’s awards are slated to take place on June 15, at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall following a seven year run at the New York Public Library.

Images courtesy of the Fashion Spot forums.