Fashion News


 By Sharon Feiereisen


The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA), was founded in 1962 and is a not-for-profit organization of more than 300 top U.S.-based fashion and accessory designers. New members are chosen based on a vote by the board of directors after review of all applications which, this year, were at an all-time high.   

Your browser may not support display of this image. 

CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg was unanimously re-elected for a second two-year term and 28 new members to the CFDA were announced. The talents new-comers are — Sophie Buhai and Lisa Mayock of Vena Cava; Thakoon Panichgul of Thakoon; Holly Dunlap of Hollywould; Jenni Kayne; Naeem Khan; Sue Stemp; Dana Foley and Anna Corinna Sellinger of Foley + Corinna; Scott Sternberg of Band of Outsiders; Amy Smilovic of Tibi; Michael Bastian; Philip Crangi; Ron Anderson and David Rees of Tenthousandthings; Andrew Buckler of Buckler; Rachel Comey; Erica Davis of Development; Cheryl Finegan of Virgin, Saints & Angels; Eunice Lee of Unis; Fiona Kotur Marin of Kotur; Malia Mills of Malia Mills Swimwear; Sandra Muller of Lila Gems, , Robin Renzi of Me & Ro; Brian Reyes; Loree Rodkin; Kara Ross; and Araks Yeramyan of Araks. 

Your browser may not support display of this image.

CFDA’s executive director Steven Kolb said that in the past two years, “the CFDA’s membership has increased and the overall visibility of the American fashion industry has risen”, adding that “new programs and direct benefits for members have been initiated. Diane’s enthusiasm for and commitment to the CFDA have been unwavering.” 

Your browser may not support display of this image. 

A cocktail reception at the home of famed designer Elie Tahari and his wife is planned for October 21st to celebrate the new crop of members.

Photos courtesy of the Fashion Spot forums.