Fashion News


Sharon Feiereisen

Since 1983, The Fashion Group International has honored icons, style-makers, and transformers of fashion and design at its annual Night of Stars Gala which will be held this year at Cipriani 55 Wall Street on October 23rd.

When it comes to this year’s gala however, there is something more exciting than the presenters and even, more exciting than the award recipients (despite both being some of the industry’s most bold-face names), and that would be the host. This year, personality, Barney’s creative director, and hilarious Observer columnist Simon Doonan will once again host the “The Alchemists”-themed gala.

Following Doonan closely when it comes to excitement factor is Karl Lagerfeld who will be awarding the 2008 Hudson’s Bay Trading Company Fashion Oracle award to Harold Koda from the Met’s Costume Institute. 

While the rest of the list of presenters is still being finalized it is being reported that they are set to include in the fashion category, Ashley Olsen who will present an award to Francisco Costa; Kate Bosworth who will be presenting to Christopher Bailey; Stefano Tonchi presenting to Carla Sozzani, and Jonathan Newhouse, to Franca Sozzani.

In beauty, Bruce Weber will present the award to Bobbi Brown while in the entertainment category Tim Gunn will hand the honor to Harvey Weinstein, and Marcia Gay Harden will give the Sustainability award to John Paul DeJoria of Paul Mitchell. Rosemarie Bravo will present the Corporate Leadership award to’s Natalie Massenet, and Mariska Hargitay, the Humanitarian award to Bill McComb for the Liz Claiborne Foundation.