News & Runway

2010 CFDA Nominees Announced

The 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards nominees and honorees have just been announced, and there are lots of familiar faces in the mix.

Last year's Swarovski Award for Women's Wear (the award that recognizes emerging talent) designer winner, Alexander Wang, is now up for Womenswear Designer of the Year, along with Donna Karan and Marc Jacobs. This is a tremendous honor given how relatively young Wang's brand is, and it's somewhat surprising, given his latest collection. However, the big winners last year were the Rodarte girls, Laura and Kate Mulleavy, so perhaps the CFDA is looking for some new, young blood to bestow their honors upon.

Tom Ford, Michael Bastian, and David Neville and Marcus Wainwright of Rag & Bone are up for Menswear Designer of the Year (I can’t imagine Ford not taking this much-deserved win).  Last year, Calvin Klein’s Italo Zucchelli and Band of Outsiders’ Scott Sternberg tied for Menswear Designer of the Year. As for accessories, it will be a race between Marc Jacobs, Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, and Alexis Bittar (the Proenza Schouler boys won last year).

This year’s  Swarovski Award will go to Prabal Gurung, Joseph Altuzarra, or Jason Wu for women’s wear, Simon Spurr, Patrik Ervell, or Richard Chai for men’s wear, and Dana Lorenz, Alexander Wang, or Eddie Borgo for accessories.

Winners will be announced at the June 7th awards ceremony, which will include an honoring of the late Alexander McQueen, who will receive the Board of Directors' Special Tribute. In addition to McQueen, the following people will be honored:

  • Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Michael Kors
  • Eugenia Sheppard Award: Kim Hastreiter, Paper Magazine
  • International Award: Christopher Bailey for Burberry
  • Fashion Icon Award: Iman
  • Eleanor Lambert Award: Tonne Goodman, Vogue