News & Runway

The 2011 CFDA Awards Winners

CFDA Mary Kate and Ashley Olsencfda awards - Anderson Cooper

Host Anderson Cooper put any concerns of whether he would be an appropriate host for this year's CFDA Awards to rest at last night's ceremony, which took place at Alice Tully Hall in Lincoln Center in New York City. After all, before reporting on the likes of Anthony Weiner, he was a child model for  Ralph Lauren, (and of course son of designer Gloria Vanderbilt. Jokes aside, the star-studded event was attended by, among others, Kanye West, Naomi Watts, Gerard Butler, Ashley Greene, The Olsen twins, and of course a slew of A-list models and designers. Who were the night's big winners? Unfortunately, there weren't many surprises. While one can't deny the talent of this year's nominees, it would be nice to see some fresh blood in the awards ceremony.

The award for Womenswear Designer of the Year went to Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler (the nominees also included Alexander Wang and Marc Jacobs), while the Menswear Designer of the Year went to Michael Bastian, who was so overcome with emotion he could barely speak. The nominees in the menswear category also included Patrik Ervell and Simon Spurr. The Accessory Designer of the Year award went to Alexander Wang. The young designer beat out Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler and Reed Krakoff. I recently purchased Wang's Kirsten bag and have received numerous compliments on it, and while it's undeniably original like the Coco from a few seasons ago, Wang also has a number of designs that strike me as blatant YSL knock-offs, leading me to believe he is not wholly deserving of this award.

cfda awards - Lady Gagacfda awards - Anna Wintour

The Swarovski Award for Womenswear went to Prabal Gurung who beat out Joseph Altuzarra and Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen. The Swarovski Award for Accessory Design went to Eddie Borgo, who beat out Alejandro Ingelmo, Jason Wu, and Pamela Love. The Swarovski Award for Menswear went to Robert Geller who beat out Phillip Lim and Robert Geller. All the winners and nominees in the Swarovski categories are worthy of praise, yes, but am I the only one who is bothered that people can be nominated in both the "regular" and the Swarovski categories, the latter of which are designed for emerging talent? Further, am I the only one who doesn't consider Phillip Lim, Eddie Borgo, Pamela Love, and frankly pretty much all of the other nominated designers, "emerging"?

As for the honorary awards, the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award went to Marc Jacobs. the CFDA Board of Directors Special Tribute went to Arthur Elgort, the Fashion Icon Award went to Lady Gaga, the Eugenia Sheppard Media Award went to Hilary Alexander of The Telegraph. the Eleanor Lambert Founders Award went to Hal Rubenstein of InStyle, and the International Award went to Phoebe Philo for Celine.

Images: WWD.